Tampilkan postingan dengan label Football. Tampilkan semua postingan
Tampilkan postingan dengan label Football. Tampilkan semua postingan

Ozil and the Supercopa

"Actually seeing Mesut Özil go mental is quite surreal. Guy is personification of calm" - (Nerdyyy, 2011)

Let me tell you about what I felt while this was all happening (I didn't watch it live, was able to watch it a day after it happened).

Ate Dylan posted on my wall about Real Madrid's 6 yellows and 2 red cards. Never in my wildest dream did I expect Mesut Ozil to receive a red card. NEVER. AS IN NEVER.

With five minutes left in the game, I was wondering "why are there no red cards yet", truth be told, I'm already expecting Marcelo or Pepe or Sergio to receive one.

So when Marcelo received one for that foul on Cesc (oh my poor Cescy), I was not surprised. Then the outbreak occurred. I saw Mesut joining in the rumble, I was a bit shocked to say the least 'coz he was there (and a bit proud 'coz he was defending his club and teammates!).

* in his stay in Real Madrid, he never got involved in fights, nor did he have a major say in any decision by the ref
* part of it, I think is because he can't speak and understand Spanish that well yet
* a large part is because, he's BAMBI. He never gets angry, he rarely complains, he's always calm and he's a bit shy. I will not be surprised if the classy Xabi gets yellow carded but if you tell me that Ozi got a yellow, I will treat it as a joke.

and then this happened:

Photobucket Photobucket

It happened so fast. In the beginning I can see Ozil among the crowd, the next second the cameras were focusing on him. Even they knew how IMPORTANT seeing Ozi's wrath was.

Photobucket Photobucket

Everyone (I'm pretty sure) became afraid of seeing him like that (is it the turkish blood-german mentality kicking in? Imagine Hitler and the Ottoman Turks' blood pulsating in his veins). Even the referees had to restrain him. It was sweet of Sami to try to pacify his friend. And Marcelo too :)

He became agitated when David Villa slapped him. I don't want to blame anybody but to make him THAT angry? DAMN. REAL DAMN. If only looks and words can kill) There are "rumors" circulating around that Villa said something offensive to him and now people are taking sides, even the issue of religion has been brought up (btw, I think he is in fasting mode). I do hope everything will be sorted out.

Photobucket

The thing is, do you know how I felt right after seeing Bambi's temper? My fingers began to shake, as in literally shake, I guess his anger reached my heart. Earlier in the first half, I was thinking about how I never heard Bambi receiving a yellow card in a game and I was wondering what would make him blow up. I clearly got my answer :|

Funny how before joining Real Madrid, Ozil's dream team was Barcelona. Imagine how happy I am seeing him in a RMA shirt and caring for his team! I can not wait for the next El Clasico in December!

p.s. Mou did his own mischievous act, poking the eye of Barca's assistant coach, Tito Vilanova (he received a spanking in return but managed to smile it all off).

and I can almost imagine unamadridista's post: In case you missed it: The Mesut Ozil edition

updated:

Since this is an Ozil post, I learned from una that it all started when Villa pushed Ozil, afterwhich Valdes hit him and then that was when Villa slapped him (and said some insults too). Imagine if you were Ozil, how would you feel? Ozil only went there to help Higuain (I read this on twitter so it is not that accurate) or some of his teammates.

Philippine Azkals (thoughts, ramblings)

We have truly gone a long way. Though we lost on both the home and away leg against Kuwait, I am still proud of the Azkals.

Kuwait is miles ahead of us in terms of football but we still managed to keep up with them (somehow). We have improved a lot since that away game and there were moments in the recently concluded game that almost changed the outcome of this leg.

As a fan, gusto ko lang sana ishare yung thoughts (and frustrations) ko about the home game. Pero keep in mind na saloobin ko lang 'to and alam ko naman na mahirap talagang talunin ang Kuwait at kulang pa tayo sa experience.

* There was this part sa game na nagkagoosebumps ako kasi kitang-kita mo na na buong puso talagang naglalaro yung Azkals.

* We had so many chances, so many attempts sa pag score ng goal, too bad hindi nagconvert. I think isa sa mga problems natin ang offense, idk, pero everytime na mapunta na sa side ng Kuwait goalie yung ball, parang medyo napepredict ko na na one way or another, maiintercept agad ng Al Azraq yung bola, kulang kasi tayo sa support, tapos minsan may miscommunication pa dun sa nasa front line. May kinalaman ba 'to sa formation?

* We should practice on long passes/crosses, Kuwait is so good with this.

* I was disappointed with Weiss (sa away game pa lang). Palagi na lang siyang nagsusubstitute ng players mga 5-10 minutes before the game ends. Okay lang nung away leg, pero sa home?

Bigla ko tuloy naalala yung game ng Barcelona against Real Madrid (Champions League). RM lost at home, tapos nung nasa away game na, the commentator guy said na, "given the position they were in (it's either RMA will lose or win) okay lang na magexperiment si Mou, na he should try to bring the substitutes in (to create an offensive attack), kasi nga if your players are not performing well (and perhaps hindi nila day yun), better to change your tactics 'di ba? Wala na naman kasing mawawala. Malay mo magwork. Kung matatalo na lang din kayo, mas okay na na you exhaust your resources and alternatives (I don't think I'm making sense here)

* Speaking of which, hindi day ni Phil and Angel ngayon. Lalo na si Angel, ibang-iba yung laro niya ngayon as opposed to the first leg. Don't get me wrong ah, pinakafavorite player ko si Angel sa Azkals as of now, pero siguro the fatigue settled in.

* Stephan Schrock for me is the best player of the game. Not just because of that goal he made (which was fantastic!) pero he was doing so well sa midfield na nakakawow talaga :)

* So imagine-in na lang natin na kung naglaro lang si Schrock nung away game (na kung saan sobrang active ni Guirado), malaki sigurong difference ano?

* Pero nakakatuwa talaga yung improvement ng Azkals, as in, mafefeel mo talaga na kabado yung Kuwait, especially nung lamang na tayo ng isa tapos palaging nasa atin yung possession, lalo na nung naredcard na yung isang player nila.

* The moment na naging 10 man team na lang ang Kuwait, nagkapag-asa ako. AS IN SOBRA. Kasi napakalaking advantage nun for the Azkals, tapos we were ahead with a goal pa. But then, minutes after nun, bigla na lang nakagoal yung kalaban T____T Sa point pa lang na yun, medyo alam ko na na it would be difficult to survive that one.

AYAN. I finally let go of my thoughts. Sana walang naoffend, ito lang talaga yung thoughts ko, and I know I'm not that knowledgeable sa football (I don't play the sport) pero from a fan's perspective, yun yung saloobin ko. STILL, I would like to reiterate na I am so damn proud of the boys. As in. Mahirap naman kasi talagang maaccomplish yung World Cup Brazil eh (given our circumstances). Pero I'm sure sa World Cup Russia, we have a greater chance of making it.

Lastly, that's the way football is, minsan natatalo, minsan nananalo. It's everybody's game. I tell you, my heart had been broken a lot of times from seeing my favorite teams lose. Sobrang hinahate ko na nga yung mga nakalaban nila eh. LOL

It's been a year

This exact day last year, I watched my first ever World Cup game (Spain versus The Netherlands) even if it was a replay (LOL).

It was also the day when I was captivated by Sergio Ramos's hair and La Furia Roja (Nando Nando Nando Nando, every moment a dayyyy).

Time flew by so fast right? From a noob fan, I can say that I am now a bit more knowledgeable about football. I CAN UNDERSTAND CLUB LOYALTY and I know more players as compared to before (also the rules).

I think my love for football will continue on as long as I live :) Only three more years and we'll get to witness it in Brazil ;)

Random

Hola! Como estais mi amigas? JAJA.

I'm tired. Just plain tired. I think this sem is gonna be the most toxic sem for me, ever. The thought of all those papers, reports, etc is enough to get me stressed. There are times that thinking can cause you more stress than the act of doing it. Or is it just me because I tend to over think stuff? HAHA. See I'm getting incoherent. Blame my 197 paper (I accomplished an essay consisting of 38 words for this day, BRAVO Machi, Bravo)! All these ICTs, democracy, digital divide, civic and political participation are making me insane. If only I'm the type who engages in some of these then life would be easier :|

On the bright side, Azkals won over Sri Lanka! Congrats guys, you make us proud. Did you know that I had this hair raising moment just before the kick off started? Seeing the Azkals on the pitch made me envision them standing on a WC pitch. Rizal Stadium (esp. the field) looks fabulous (considering its past condition). Sana we can pull a North Korea-like feat para sa qualifiers na 'to. Magiipon na talaga ako for WC Brazil, tapos I'll choose a place na malapit sa camp ng Spain or Germany! O malay natin baka pati PH nandun na? We can never tell :) (Sana magkapremonition ako xD)

The Future of Real Madrid

El futuro de Real Madrid.

I saw this photo at RMA FB account. Isn't it adorable? The future players of RMA (hopefully). Some of these children will be the next San Iker, Sergio Ramos, etc.

By the time they make it in the big league, I can't fangirl them anymore since I'll be too old to be their Mom. Let me make a prediction. The kid at the left most side will be a star (he was the first one I noticed). The guy at the rightmost side (2nd to the last) will just be like CRon (can you see the confidence?!). And the boys beside the goal keeper are totally cute. LMAO

I bring you young Fabrique.

and young Bambi :D

If ever I'll have a son in the future, I will make sure he'll be into football.

James and Mesut. Mesut and James

Before you accuse me of being a lunatic, please hear my side first.

While I was channel surfing yesterday, I happened to see the trailer of X-Men First Class. So yeah I knew that James McAvoy (insert fan girl squeal here) would play professor X (I haven't seen any movie about X Men btw which sucks I know) but suddenly a thought occurred to me: he looks like somebody I know, I just can't put a name to him. A thing about me: I'm easily frustrated if I can't remember something.


It was the eyes. All I thought was "who is that person again? I know he's someone I know very well". I love James McAvoy (ever since I saw him in Penelope, and he reminds me of Ryan A.). And the fact that he is a Scot further intensified that (Ian Thornton = Scottish).

Then it hit me. Believe it or not, James kinda resembles my favorite football player, Mesut Ozil.


It may not be that visible, but the similarity is there (however faint that is). It was the defining moment of my football fangirling life (I'm exaggerating a bit). James McAvoy and Mesut Ozil? Hell YEAHHHHHHHH~

I saw this somewhere on the net (credit to whoever you are)


I have spoken my mind. I may be delusional but whatever. LOL. I'm just bored =))

If I were Mou

my starting 11 would be (provided that they're not suspended or injured):

Casillas

Ramos,Pepe,Carvalho,Marcelo

Alonso, Khedira (Di Maria)

Ozil, Ronaldo, Di Maria (Kaka)

Benzema (Higuain)

For the 2nd leg, I'd probably choose (not in the exact position since I'm not knowledgeable about the midfielders position (attacking, defensive, etc):

Casillas

Carvalho, Marcelo, Arbeloa

Alonso, Kaka, Di Maria

Ronaldo, Ozil, Benzema

Higuain


I would never have ticked that referee off no matter what. With two players already banned from playing the next leg, I would have keep my head a bit cooler (though I can't really blame Mou, especially that he's being Mou).

I'd put Kaka/Higuain/Benzema in the game, it would not hurt to play a little offensively.

As for the game (those in red are recent additions, mostly added after reading and watching related news about the game):

* Real Madrid was the lesser team. *sigh* We all know how great Barca is (it's a given fact) but somehow, RM was not being itself last night (not sure about the grammar, but wtv)
* The direct red card on Pepe, wth was that ref (I've heard/read of your past exploits)!. I'd want to know more about the situation (I wasn't paying attention) but I swear I will never watch that game again. Just the mere thought of going through all that emotion pains me.
* I've seen the clip. Pepe didn't even touch Alves' leg and he (Alves) was even carried out by a stretcher whilst clutching his "leg"
* Pinto slapped Arbeloa (which explained the commotion after the first half)
* There were a lot of "unfollowing" in twitterverse. Pique unfollowed Sergio and Arbeloa, the two did the same. I hope del Bosque can sort this out :|
* Barca filed a complaint against Mou's action during the game (to UEFA). RMA filed something against Barca too
* Barca player were quite the actors. There were a lot of diving, whining, and complaining that were down right annoying (forgive my bitter self for this comment). Candidates for an award: Alves, Pedro, and Busquets
* RM down with 10 men again. It's becoming a trend right?
* Hands down to Messi, he played really well
* Though Messi's 2nd goal could have been stopped, what were the defenders thinking of that time? It's Messi we're dealing here with
* Still, losing to Barca 2-0 with just 10 men (and Mou away from the bench) is more acceptable than what happened back in November right? We're improving but it still hurts, losing in Santiago Bernabeu that is.

Looking ahead to the next El Clasico, I don't want to put my hopes up, but it will be a do or die match for us. Real with Ramos and Pepe can barely contain Barca, but without them on the field (and Mou missing from the bench)? I don't even want to think about it.

However, I will always support RM no matter what. I believe a miracle can occur :D Creo que el equipo will be playing with all their heart next time (they better do). HALA MADRID.

p.s. please let Ozi play for more minutes, for all we know he could work great under pressure (my personal bias kicking in)

I may sound a bit pessimistic but I'm still 100% confident that Real Madrid can pull this one up :)

A Mesut Özil Appreciation Post

Just because I want to.

For the past few days, Ozi, Bambi, Nemo or whatever name you want to call him has been constantly occupying my mind and heart. This day alone, I have been looking for anything Mesut. Can you imagine that? LOL.

The first time I saw Özil was during Germany NT's game against Spain NT (it wasn't even live, just DL-ed the game). I was a noob back then and was obviously rooting for La Roja but he caught my eyes, or rather his eyes caught my eyes. I can't even properly distinguish a good footballer, basically all I ever did was to ogle at the hotness that La Roja was and to cheer every time they scored. And after the WC, while I involved myself with everything La Roja, the thought of Ozil remained (it was not prominent but still it lingered).

Came his transfer to Real Madrid. Not really into club football that time, but I chanced upon seeing a pic of him holding a RM jersey, and I was like "WHOA. That was the German guy from the WC". And I think from lingering at the outskirts of my mind, he inched closer to my faves. When I was about to buy a RM jersey, I was hoping to buy Ramos' but it was not available. Only CRon, Kaka and Ozil's were.

Marianne bought Kaka's and I bought Ozil's. Though I was a bit sad that I wasn't able to have Ramos's kit, I'm more than happy that I got Ozil's. Seriously. Mesut is undeniably my favorite football player now (oopppps, Cesc's just been replaced). And seeing the praises, testimonials, and love that people have for Ozil made me love him even more.
Now that I know a bit more about football, I tell you, Mesut is a brilliant player (the game against Racing de Santander proved it). He's still young (22) and given a few more years, he'll be one of the best :) Being in a country that you don't even know the language and playing for a team there without even understanding your teammates (Mou said that at first he did not know how to communicate with Ozi since no one spoke German, except for Sami) but still playing impressively is quite a feat right? Plus he's down to earth. That's Ozi for you.


There ya go. A pretty long post isn't it? I have to write this all up or I'd go crazy (I can't spazz to anyone since my friends aren't into football).

On the other hand, Bambi, please please please think about the girls you'll date. I am glad that you and Anna Maria broke up (I can't think of any good adjectives to describe that girl) and that the 'thing' with that Venezuelan woman didn't happen (just concerned =P).

and finally

Buena suerte a los blancos en del Champion's League contra Barcelona! (there goes my beginner Spanish). I hope you'll play all throughout the game, it's really different when you're on the field.

We Won!

Halaaaaaa Madrid! Real Madrid defeated Barcelona to claim the Copa del Rey title :)

I woke up at around 3 am for the game and despite the mosquito bites and my stomach's rumbling, I was happy I witnessed Real Madrid winning the cup!

A pic from Arbeloa's twitter.

As what some of the players said 'we are a young team', same goes for me, I'm a newbie fan and I am glad that I got to celebrate this moment with them :D From a 5-0 loss, to a 1-1 draw, and now a 1-0 victory against their formidable rivals, Barca. Isn't it something?

Someday, I'll watch a game of you guys over at Santiago Bernabeu :) Even if it kills my wallet ^_________________^

and I think I love Ozil more than El Ramos now o.O HAAAAA.

UP vs. UST Football Finals

I was there! I can't afford not to be there. LMAO.

To date, it was the first live football game that I watched. And it was so memorable :)

We (UP) won! I was basically shouting my heart out cheering for UP. I didn't care that we were standing, and that we were under the scorching heat of the sun. All for the love of football. Yeah, I am so in love with football. Me encanta muchisimo el futbol y me encanta un cierto jugador (JAJAJA).

Proof to that was I was willing to come back on a Sunday (I never went back to our dorm during Sundays).

About the game, I think it was great, though through most of it I was nervous, nervous that UST might score a goal. Thankfully, we won. You know the best part about it? I was able to take pictures with some of the players :)

Honestly, I never thought that I would ask Jinggoy for a picture. Never in my wildest imagination. Plus, we (my friend and I) didn't have a camera. Luckily, Ziru's friend brought one. And through Ziru's nagging, we approached Jinggoy (she was the one to ask him). He's humble and he's tall :P


We also took pictures with some of the players but Ziru's friend hasn't UL-ed it. She only UL-ed the one above and this (which is weird, LOL):


We approached Jinggoy twice :P (We were hoping to get solo pics with him). BUT OMG. I look so fat in the second pic. Plus, my pimple is screaming bloody murder! If only the pic's taken more properly (ok, stop complaining, you should be grateful instead). Nonetheless, if there's one thing I noticed, Jinggoy looked so natural in the two pics above, as compared with the other pics that's been circulating around, and mind you, those were taken using DSLR.

Enough of my shizzness. IF there are two things that will be included in my bucket list they are:

1. Watch a World Cup Game (preferably a La Roja game)
2. Watch an Azkals game

My favorite football players (2011 edition)

**8/19/11 Over the past few months, things have changed. It is apparent that my favorite player is Mesut Ozil :D I think I have to make another list :))



Last year, I made a list of my favorite football players. Being a newbie fan then, I knew so little of who's who in the wonderful world of football.



Also last year, I made a list of my favorite Azkals players.Now, let me present you with my new favorite football players (combining both Filipino and foreign players).



Mind you, most of the ones included in this are my present faves (subject to changes). Will only include pictures of those who are new in my list.



1. Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal FC, Spain NT) - Yeah, I know. I should have seen this coming. It's just that I'm more of an EPL than a La Liga fan, and well you gotta love this Arsenal skipper for all he is :)



2. Gerardo Valmayor - Now you're wondering who he is. He isn't playing for the Azkals. He's a member of UP's (my university) Football team (striker, 18 yo, rookie). JAJAJA. All I can say is that he's super kind and humble ♥





3. Neil Etheridge (Fulham FC, Phil. NT) - Neil. Need I say more? Your star shines brightest when you're playing for the Philippines, and you're the closest baller to my age who's single (pardon my football fantasy)



4. Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid FC, Spain NT) - From no. 1 to no. 4. Last year I was so sure that he'll forever be my number 1 but things change (sigh). I should have paid more attention to him (and La Liga too)



5. Mesut Ozil (R.M. FC, Germany NT) - The Ozil. Bambi. Ozil is special. There's so much potential/greatness in him that I know he'll take the world by storm.



6. Steven Gerrard (Liverpool FC, England NT) - he's the reason why I love Liverpool. He, Reina and Nando made me love Liverpool (even more than my love for Arsenal), so when Nando left you could imagine how my heart felt.





7. Joe Hart (Man. City, England NT) - All it took was to see Man City's game against Arsenal.





8. Theo Walcott (Arsenal FC, England NT)





9. Jack Wilshere (Arsenal FC, England) - newest one who made it on my list.





10. Angel di Maria (Real Madrid, Argentina NT) - The guy's a sweetie :) LOL.





Runner-ups: Lio Messi, David Silva, Diego Forlan, Kaka, David Villa



Philippine Football Team: Thoughts and My Pick

**note (7/2011), I do have a different list of faves by now :))

It took a win against Vietnam to turn the Philippines' attention towards football. That first, our country has potential in football as compared to basketball, second that football is an exciting game, and lastly, that ballers are hot. LMAO.

It's a sad thing that we did not advance to the finals, and I have to admit that it broke my heart to see the Azkals give their all out and lose. The odds were all against us (home court advantage, biased referee-ing, etc), still we managed to show them what we were made of, I think given a few years, we can be among the best. Seriously. We just have to train harder and we have to work on our offense, if North Korea can qualify in the World Cup, why can't we?

Football is the most famous sport in the world, yet we are addicted to basketball. I have nothing against basketball, I was once a fan but it's time that we try to switch to a sport where we can excel more. The sad thing is, even our fellow kababayans have little faith in our team, even I was not interested in our football team until the much celebrated win against Vietnam. As I was watching the game yesterday, people around me were telling na Ay, matatalo na yang Pilipinas", they were all saying that, and I told them na hindi pa tapos ang laban.

I have to admit that we still have to learn a lot, especially in our offense, we have to work on our midfield, we have to train our strikers, etc. As for defense, we're doing pretty great, I was amazed at how great they were at defending. And as for our goalie, we undeniably have the best goal keeper. Neil Etheridge deserves all the praises. He has what it takes to be the next Iker Casillas. He's only 20, given the proper training, he can be a well known player globally :)

Enough with my thoughts, I'll give you the list of my favorite players in our football team.

1. Neil Etheridge - You should have seen him. At first, I was not much of a fan, but after seeing him save goals, I was mesmerized. He's a brilliant goalie I'm gonna die (lol, despicable me?!)


2. Christopher Greatwich - idk, but I can't stop myself from looking at him whenever he's on the field :)


3. Rob Gier


4. Anton del Rosario



We definitely have the handsomest players in this side of the globe, no doubt about that. It's enough to be a starting ground for Pinoys to be interested sa football.

Though most of our players are half-half, the fact that they accepted to play for the Philippines and are proud enough to say/recognize that they are Filipinos are more than a proof that they are indeed Pinoys. Hindi naman sa minamaliit ko yung team natin, pero considering how we fare sa football before the Vietnam game (or the few games before that), don't you think na we should be happy na naglalaro pa sila for us? I mean there's no guarantee that we'll even make it to the top, and wala talagang support for them (or minimal lang), gaanong sacrifice na lang yun for our country, right?

And to think na 0-1 yung results ng dalawang game against Indonesia is something. We conceded to them by 1 point in both games, when in fact, tinatambakan lang ng Indonesia yung ibang team.

I am proud of our football team, I was on the verge of crying yesterday because of the unfair calls of the referees. I think that was the first time I got so emotional about a football game, not even Spain NT, Real Madrid, Liverpool or Arsenal games elicited that emotion from me. Siguro it boils down to one point, no one can ever replace the Philippines. Once a Filipino, always a Filipino :) And we should focus more attention in football :D

Thoughts on El Clásico

I can't wait! I've been waiting for this match ever since I started loving Spain's NT. I remember what I said months ago: "I'll be fine on whichever team wins since I love them both"

However, after being exposed to the world of football, I take back what I said. LMAO. I know it's La Roja over any other team, but La Roja vs. La Roja? I'll side on the team that Sergio's in :) It's still Sergio above all the others. jajajaja. And for that #halamadrid!



My take on El Clásico: I honestly don't know.

I've never watched any El Clásico games before, nor did I watched any Barca games. And perhaps you'll stone me to death when I tell you that so far, I've only seen one Real Madrid game *hides in the corner*. It's not what you're thinking! LOL. I am updated with anything that's happening to RM, it's because I know that they're unbeatable so I'm quite at ease xD.

Another confession: I think I'm a fan of the Premier League than La Liga (for now).

Moving on, I do hope that Real Madrid wins. Their last win over Barca was in 2008, and I guess it's time to break that spell. Why? Well, because I'm watching? jajajajajaja. JK.

Barca's got the best players in the world (duh, Messi, Xavi, Villa, etc), no doubt about that. But RM also got fine players (SERGIO! Higuain! lol) and the best keeper at that (yay, San Iker!). And I think having Ozil will definitely make a difference (go go go go Mesut!).

BUT THE THING IS.

I CAN'T WATCH IT WHILE IT HAPPENS.

A few days back, I thought that it will be shown tomorrow at dawn (I even prepare to wake up early for that), but it will be shown either tomorrow evening or at dawn on Tuesday (PH Time).

BOO. It definitely s*cks to live in a dorm. The connection won't permit me + I have a full day sched ahead of me on Tuesday (and a quiz TT).

So I vowed to myself that I won't spoil myself. I won't open my twitter, fb, ymail, or any site concerning football until I get to DL and watch the match on Friday.

But, it will always be Real Madrid for me. Sana magdilang anghel ako.

-----------------------------------

So I was wrong. They did lose. And a terrible one for that. I told myself that I won't be spoiled, but as I was DL-ing the match, I accidentally saw the result, at first I was reluctant to believe it, but as I was watching the game, I knew that it was useless to hope.

The thing is, Barcelona did great, I commend them for that. They were the better team, and for that congratulations :)

Thoughts: Mou shouldn't have subbed Mesut out, lol. Like for real, he could had done something to change the outcome of the game.

And I never knew Higuain wouldn't be able to play, that may also be a factor.

And the drama. Really. Seeing the "fights" that ensue was more exciting than the game itself. CRon and Pep, and the "RAMOS" explosion towards the end. Oh Sergio. That was heartbreaking to watch :|

Overall, despite the outcome, it was an unforgettable El Clasico for me. Definitely an unforgettable first =D

Fernando Ramos.

No. You're mistaken, I'm not taking about THE Fernando Ramos (I know you wish I did)


As I was searching for possible subjects this coming semester, I asked my classmates on which Span 10 professor to take. There were a lot of suggestions, but one of my blockmates made this astonishing suggestion:

Take Sir Ramos's class. At the mention of the surname Ramos, I became giddy.

Then she told me that Sir Ramos is a pure Spaniard (blue-eyed too?), but the problem was, he's not teaching Span 10&11 anymore ('coz he wants to teach the class in straight Spanish). Out of curiosity, I asked his full name.

FERNANDO RAMOS. I even repeated the question twice, and she had this straight face on (she's not a fan of football).

HAHAHAHAHAHA. I swear after I'm done with Span 10&11, I'll pursue higher Span (even if it's not required). :)

Sigh

I can't believe I'm feeling down after watching my first ever football game live (via streaming).
Liverpool lost, and though it was the first time I saw Liverpool play, my heart goes with them (I have yet to see Arsenal play).

Depressing as it may seem, watching a game live made my heart beat so fast. I never knew I could love football any more.

What more if it's El Clasico? I think I'll die =P

New header and Özil.

Someday I'll be a pro in photoshop xD

So what's with the header? I was making a poster for one of my major subjects and I kinda get the hang of PS-ing which led to the creation of my present header.

I was thinking of putting Sergio and Cesc together as my header but it's too much for a noob like me.

Don't judge me by my header. I was looking through my Sergio pics, and I thought the one above suits the header best. LOL. And have you seen the quote? Lol. So ironic right? Where is the shirt Sergio?

-----

On to other things, the ad for FIFA 11 came out recently,



Mesut Özil.

You have a way of capturing people's attention.

The part where in his name was shown glowing is super cool, don't you think? Plus, I read @ unamadridista's blog that his favorite drink is iced tea, now tell me, can I ever ignore this man? We can drink iced tea all day long, my treat! haha. And oh well, he can rap.

UNDP 8MDG & the La Roja boys

What's with you Spanish men? You're totally making me fall for you~~

In line with UN's 8 Millennium Development Goals, our boys appeared in this ad:



for the translation, you could go over at conlaroja.

NOW. I really love Sergio's voice (and he was featured longer than the others), I mean he has one of the most manly voices in the team (and perhaps even in Spain? lol), and I love his sincerity. Plus, he talked about the environment, Mr. Ramos, can I interview you for my group's research paper? <3>:)

As for Nando, I find his pose awkward? still he's as handsome as ever.

CESC! What will I do with you? You're getting hotter by the minute, but I was surprised about your voice, lol. Well it doesn't matter ;)

I personally like Capdevila and Pepe Reina's voice sexay! Special mention to DAVEEEED, stay gorgeous :)

My favorite football players

I felt the urge to post my favorite football players =) But first, please bear in mind that I'm a newbie fan, and my knowledge of players will only be limited to those who played in WC 2010 (mostly Spain NT players).

My preference is pretty much influenced by whether a player is married or not (hahahahahaha). Ranks #1 and #2 are important, as for the rest, the numbers don't matter that much since I'm still confused on who I like better.







1. Sergio Ramos. You shouldn't be surprised. He's El Ramos. No matter what happens, he'll forever be my number 1.
















2.5 David Villa. If he isn't married yet, then it would have been better. Still fatherhood suits him best. There's something about David Villa that draws anyone to him, don't you agree?















2.5 Cesc Fabregas. Ever since I first saw him play in the WC, I was bothered. Bothered by his presence, I think I was curious and entranced. His name says it all.








4. Fernando Torres. Nando oh Nando. You're the reason why I discovered my love for football. Plus we share the same birthday so you'll always be special. And what's Sernando without Fernando?






5. Kaka. Though I haven't seen him play, still everytime I see him, I can't help but feel that he's one of the humblest and kindest person ever.











6. David Silva. There's this thing about him I can't explain.












7. Mesut Ozil. Don't even ask me why.












8. Jesus Navas. It's his eyes.













9. Alvaro Arbeloa. Thank goodness he's on twitter, or else I wouldn't discover how funny/amazing he is. HAHA. Everytime I see him, I can't help but smile :)








10. Joachim Loew. He's a coach I know, but I'm sure you've seen him in WC 2010.





There you have it my favorite football players as of the moment. You might be wondering how about the runner-ups?

Well here they are: Guti (too bad I never saw him play), Iker, Muller, Wesley Sneijder (anyone who saw him cry during the finals will feel his sorrow TT), Xabi, Puyi (ahaha, more of like a father figure for me, though he is single) and Ronaldo (it's a like-hate feeling i have of him)

Sergio Ramos ♥

First of all, pardon me for the post below (this will be an account of how I came to like Sergio Ramos). I'm doing this post because I do not want to forget how I first saw Ramos and what was my impression of him. Why? I think I'm becoming a huge fan :)

-----------

July 12, 2010.

I was supposed to leave my house at around 9 am because it takes 3 hours time to travel from my house to my dormitory (and I have to be there at 12 and also I have an exam by 2pm).

I was all geared up to leave but at the last moment I turned on the TV in hope of catching a glimpse of the news, so okay basically there wasn't any news that time, so I tried looking at all the channels, and I happened to see a replay of the Final's Match between Spain and the Netherlands.

An hour before that happened, I went online and saw that Spain had one, I never really watched football, and I don't like it because all they ever do was to kick around and scoring was difficult, I was not even interested in the World Cup even if a lot of my friends were crazy about it. When I checked on my FB wall, I noticed that a lof of my friends were including Torres on their status, so I then concluded that the guy must be hot.

Having that thought, I decided to watch a little bit of the game just to see how Torres looked. And the first one that caught my attention was this dude with the long hair and a headband - would you believe that? I was like "what a guy, ang ewan lang ng itsura"

Looking at his back, I thought he might be Torres 'coz he looked good (that was before I saw the headband), however after I saw his face, I said to myself that he is not Torres, I did not even find him handsome, or even cute at all, I find him irritating because the camera always focuses on him (and I was running out of time since my mom was asking me if I'll be leaving). And so because of that guy being frequently shown, I learned that he is Ramos.

And so the game went on, and still there was no sign of Torres, instead what I always saw was Ramos and his headband. The image was kinda growing of me but I ignored it because my only goal was to see Torres before I leave. My mom was getting impatient, asking me if I was leaving, and I told her a few more minutes, she knew about my wish to see Torres and was side commenting on Espanya's players. A few minutes later, I was getting into the game (the thought of seeing Torres being forgotten) but then I knew that I had to leave, and so I did.

Later that afternoon, I was contemplating on the match, and I learned two things: Football is one hell of a game and second: Ramos has made his impact on me.

Two days later, I surfed the net. And you know what I did first? I searched "Sergio Ramos", why? Because its the first name that came to mind (why wouldn't it? it was his name that I always saw during the game), next thing I did was to search for Fernando Torres (I borrowed all the newspapers that one of my roommates has the previous night so that I could familiarize myself with the players.

The thing is, I opened both Ramos and Torres's profiles, but I decided to see Torres' first (I thought that he should be first because I was worrying that people might see me opening Ramos' first). And what did I learn? Torres and I shares the same birthday!!! How awesome is that? It's like we're meant to be, however he's already married, so I decided right then and there to forget him (haha, how cruel).

Then there was Ramos. I opened his profile and at first there was nothing but still there's something (the feeling's weird), and his birthday's also close to mine.

As the days went by, I was starting to think of Ramos constantly, and then I don't know how it happened, but I learned that I already like him.


After seeing him play, the doubtful like transformed into genuine admiration. In any sport, I don't particularly notice defenders, but in case of S.Ramos, I can't ignore his defenses, he's good or great (as far as my noob football eyes are concerned). And from the articles of him I'd read, he's one of the most dedicated and nicest soccer stars around. Really, what more can anyone ask for??

The Treaty Of Tordesillas

The Treaty of Tordesillas (1494), a treaty between Spain and Portugal to divide their newly discovered lands outside of Europe, in the process, Spain conquered ME the Philippines.

placed in a new context..

The Treaty of Tordesillas is the competition of Spain and Portugal to win me over, especially between Ramos (Spain) and Ronaldo (Portugal). In this case, Spain won. LMAO. I can dream right?

So what am I being geeky about?
my own history
: The first soccer game I watched from beginning to end is the WC game between Spain and Portugal. How awesome can it get? That's a first ;)

The reason why I'm eager to see this game is because of Ramos-Torres-Ronaldo. How exciting can a game be with boys like these on the field? My heart still goes out to Sergio Ramos, no doubt, and to be honest I think my emotions intensified. If you're going to ask me which I'd prefer more: an offensive or a defensive player, I'll go for the defensive one, and I think Ramos is one of the best defenders out there. As in I can't take my eyes off him whenever he's playing (I always focus my attention on his spot).


The picture above made my heart skip! Ramos deflecting Ronaldo. OMG. I don't know a thing about soccer but I think that block (?) was amazing.

I better stop now. :) The thing is, I already love football, a game flies by so fast that you'll yearn for more :D